Loading store
Loading store
WishlistStore FinderGift Cards

Christchurch Mosque Victims Group announced as Mitre 10 Community of the Year

1 April 2021


Praised for the example they set to Aotearoa and the world in the aftermath of the March 2019 terrorist attacks, and their work supporting the victims impacted, the Christchurch Mosque Victims Group received a standing ovation when announced as Mitre 10 New Zealand Community of the Year - Ngā Pou Whirinaki o te Tau winners at the Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year Awards.

After one of New Zealand’s darkest days, the people at the very heart of it all stood tall and showed what it means to embody peace, grace and forgiveness. 

On behalf of the community and victims impacted, Social Worker Maha Galal, representing the group thanked ‘all’ New Zealanders for their support following the attacks, saying “the support provided the power to move forward”.


The 2021 Finalists for the Mitre 10 Community of the Year category also included:

  • Conservation charity Trees that Count – who are helping Kiwis to plant millions of native trees to protect our environment and tackle climate change. Mitre 10 currently supports Trees that Count.
  • Te Puea Memorial Marae Indigeous Homeless Service Delivery Model – whose housing programme has had incredible success in response to homelessness in Tāmaki Makaurau

To read more on our winners and finalists, click here.