error_outlineSorry, this page is unavailable right now. Please try again.
text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
  Loading store

Community of the Year winner delivers kindness with baking

A virtual community of bakers that has spread kindness to more than 650,000 Kiwis going through trauma or difficulty has been named 2020 Mitre 10 Community of the Year at the New Zealander of the Year Awards.

Good Bitches Baking (GBB) is a community of over 2300 volunteers across New Zealand whose baking is distributed by a wide range of charities that GBB support, such as Women’s Refuge, hospices, missions and shelters. Their purpose? To make Aotearoa the ‘kindest place on earth’. 

Nicole Murray from GBB said she was delighted to have the work of the charity’s 2300 volunteers recognised, and hopes it inspires more Kiwis to spread kindness within their communities.

“For our recipients, it’s never about how flash the baking they receive is - it’s knowing that someone in their community was thinking about them and cared enough to try lift them up during a tough time. Our volunteers are baking every day of the week, for people they will likely never meet - but the impact of their work is profound. Creating those connections between strangers is powerful beyond measure.”

It’s not only their name that captures attention. The impact that GBB has had was recognised in 2019 with founders Nicole and Marie receiving the New Zealand Order of Merit in the Queen’s Birthday Awards in 2019. 

Mitre 10 Chief Executive Chris Wilesmith says it is fantastic to support the award and the platform of recognition it gives to community groups.

“It is very special to be able to recognise and celebrate the work of these inspiring groups in our community. One thing I’ve learnt over the years is that great teams with a shared purpose are incredibly powerful, and all of the finalists are testament to that!”

“GBB and all of the finalists have fostered the collective efforts of many to create communities that are kinder and stronger, more caring and connected, and a place everyone can call home – our native wildlife included,” says Wilesmith.

The Mitre 10 Community of the Year Award recognises regional or national community groups and organisations for their contributions to the social, economic, cultural or environmental health of their community. Mitre 10 has sponsored the award since it was introduced in 2010.

Other finalists for the Mitre 10 New Zealand Community of the Year Award were:

  • Foster Hope Charitable Trust
  • Zealandia (Karori Sanctuary Trust)

Past winners include: Pillars, Canterbury Charitable Hospital Trust, Randwick Park, Community Fruit Harvest, the town of Paihia, Victim Support, Grandparents Raising Grandchildren Trust NZ, the town of Paeroa.